skip navigation

North Carolina Courage Announce Roster Update Following the Team’s 2019 NWSL Championship Victory

By Morgan Brown, 11/04/19, 3:45PM EST


Cary, NC (November 4, 2019)- The North Carolina Courage offered new contracts to five players and exercised options on 18 players following the 2019 NWSL season, the team announced today. 

Additionally, U.S. Women’s National Team players Abby Dahlkemper, Crystal Dunn, Samantha Mewis, and McCall Zerboni and Canadian goalkeeper Stephanie Labbé will remain on the Courage roster as 2019 allocated Federation players.  Federation status for 2020 will be announced at a later date.

The club also announced that it would not offer Swedish forward Julia Spetsmark or 2019 draft pick Kaycie Tillman new player agreements and they will now enter the NWSL re-entry wire. 

As announced early in the 2019 season, Heather O’Reilly is retiring from professional soccer after a 17-year career. O’Reilly spent the final two seasons of her career with the Courage.

The status for the players on the 2019 active roster can be found below. 

Option Exercised: Debinha, Abby Erceg, Kristen Hamilton, Hailey Harbison, Jaelene Hinkle, Samantha Leshnak, Merritt Mathias, Jessica McDonald, McKenzie Meehan, Lauren Milliet, Leah Pruitt, Lynn Williams, Ryan Williams

Extended new contract offer: Kaleigh Kurtz, Denise O’Sullivan, Cari Roccaro, Katelyn Rowland, Meredith Speck

Placed on Re-Entry Wire: Julia Spetsmark, Kaycie Tillman

Federation Players: Abby Dahlkemper, Crystal Dunn, Stephanie Labbé, Samantha Mewis, McCall Zerboni

Retired: Heather O’Reilly


Latest News